Skip to content

Barrel Aged Cocktails Coming

January 3, 2012

I love my pop. He has a knack for giving surprising gifts, sometimes spot-on, sometimes hilariously odd. He once got me a popcorn maker, one of those old-timey miniature red ones you’d see in a vintage cinema. This Christmas, he hit the nail on the head with a Barrel Aged Cocktail Kit, including bottle with oak stave and custom made 1 liter barrel from Tuthilltown Spirits. Call me trendy but damn that’s nice! Tuthilltown has been supplying quite a few NY-area bars with their oak barrels I hear, and I’m pretty certain the Aged Gin Breukelen Distilleries produces is done in T-town barrels.

Can’t wait to have him up from Richmond so he can sample my aged Manhattan. I’m also considering a single-malt aged-cocktail so if you have any ideas, drop me a line.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 5:01 pm

    Ahhh, you son of a gun! You’re doing it with the at home kit!? Love it, dude, please keep a regular diary so we can see how it progresses.

  2. January 4, 2012 1:13 pm

    Indeed sir, you’ll have to come over and sample some. I’m thinking, first snowfall, we light the firepit in the back, break open some whisky and tap the barrel.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

