Writing Soothes

Yesterday was a bum day at work. The kind of day that just wrecks your confidence in people and perhaps even your choices. I should have seen it coming, I spent the weekend pining for a house. I’m in ‘nesting’ mode and that usually means long visits to Trulia.com to browse homes upstate. The Poconos, the Catskills, along the Westchester Reservoirs. I spent most of Sunday with football in the background as old ranches on 2.3 acres whizzed by my screen. This one caught my eye…but it was too close to town, too manicured.

Now, I’m priviledged. I live in a condo in fashionable Williamsburg, with a view of arguably the most social park in the city, McCarren Park. …it has resurfaced tennis courts. I can get my hipster on by just walking outside.

But a man isn’t a man until he makes a homestead. Growing up on a teacher’s salary, my family of 7, sometimes 8, moved around a bit, but we stuck to the outskirts. The rural lands where big houses were cheap and easily accommodated a sprawling growing family with not a lot of money. I attended  (seriously) a one-room schoolhouse in Concord, NH, like this one in Croydon.

Anyway, I digress–at work yesterday–I was reminded that when people are ugly, its often when they’re trying to act “pretty” and “nice”. Coupled with my dissatisfaction that I was far away from owning a home (my savings have been consumed by other things this year), and “pretty-ugly” behavior, I felt a kind of ache in my chest.

Finally, I was able to scratch it late last night–by cracking a key chapter of the novel I’m writing. Here are a few of the research materials, below, held up by tall-ship bookends acquired at Brimfield this fall.

Writing soothes the soul. The ache has faded. Writing is a tough and lonely affair, but oh so deeply satisfying.

2 thoughts on “Writing Soothes

  1. Hey dude, great blog! Are you writing fiction based on John Brown/Harper’s Ferry or late the late Antebellum in general? Either way, your research looks like fertile ground for an interesting book. Good luck!

    1. Thank you Eric, yep I’ve been working on a book set during the attack on Harper’s Ferry for sometime (started as a play, then a screenplay and now its definitely a novel). …and I understand a little bit what it feels like to be a displaced Yankee. I lived in London (twice) and though its my favorite city on Earth, I missed the Northeast; changing leaves, deep drifts of snow, fireworks in July! I did develop a taste for bangers and mash though! Looking forward to reading more on Making Owls Cool.

Leave a Reply

