Wildlife

Last year was a spectacular one for encountering wildlife. Generally, I fish off the beaten path in near-pristine environments on the Northeast Coast in NY state and so I see quite a bit of wildlife. I’ve rarely taken pictures, but will start too in 2012. Amazingly, most of my sitings have been very close to major cities or in some cases within city borders.

Perhaps the most remote area I spent time in was Western Maryland on the Savage River National Forest where I saw my first wild mountain lion. I was very luck, such events are incredibly rare.

The most urban location would have to be Orchard Beach in the Bronx.

I count every wild animal I see as precious, and most sitings were what you would expect from an angler spending time on a riparian corridor silently stalking trout. Here’s my list in no particular order.

Fox, Beaver, Mink, Muskrat, River Otter
Deer (including fawn)
Squirrel, Mice and Chipmunk
Ground Hog, Hedge Hog
Bald Eagle, Turkey, Vulture, Hawk, Osprey
Great Blue Heron, Pelican
Duck, Geese, Comorants, Mergansers
Woodpecker, Blue Jay, Humming Birds
Cottonmouth Snake, Water Moccasin, Rat Snake, Garter Snake
Hammerhead Shark, Blacktip and Nurse Shark (from my Biscayne Bay, FL trip)

And of course various fish:

Laker, Brown, Rainbow, Brook Trout, Perch, Crappie, Largemouth, Smallmouth, Striper, Jack, Bluegill, Sucker, Pickerel

I am looking forward to seeing more next year. If the Gods will it, I would like to catch sight of a bear, coyote, and owl, and my first bluefish. Though I hope I see my first bear from a considerable distance and perhaps when I’m with someone slower than me!

2 thoughts on “Wildlife

  1. I’m interested to know more about your encounter with rat snakes. I love these snakes. They’re the only snakes I know that freeze when they’re threatened (unlike others who immediately attack when disturbed). And because of this, many rat snakes are unfortunately killed during traffic. ratsnake.org

Leave a Reply

