Film CRAFT VIII

Its well into the new year and time for the first Film Craft of 2012. Here’s an eclectic mix, no theme, just fun.

Let’s kick it off with Randolph Engineering. My boy Eric put me on to this incredible Massachusetts-based eyewear company a few years ago. RE’s handbuilt sunglasses and shooting glasses have been worn by American aviators and outdoorsmen since 1972. Recently, they collaborated with Michael Bastian for their first fashion line, but don’t worry, Randolph Engineered eyewear is rugged, durable and affordable. I’ve got two different pairs of aviators and no plan to ever buy another brand, ever.

 

 

I was given a Makr keychain which is aging quite nicely. The leather has picked up a cool patina, and now I’ve got my eye on one of designer Jason Gregory’s rucksacks. Gregory started Makr Design Studio and goes from sketch to CAD to prototype to product from his home base in Florida. Spend a moment on his blog to see where he draws inspiration from.

 

 

Here’s a bonus video demonstrating how Makr embosses their packaging.

 

 

I’m dying to get my hands on one these Edisto Oyster Knives from the Williams Knife Company. Chris Williams was featured in Garden and Gun magazine recently. I can easily see an Edisto showing up on The Bureau of Trade in 50 years…

 

 

Field Notes, where to begin? I’m pretty sure the first words I ever wrote in pencil must have been in a pad like Field Notes. Here’s a look at the printing process for the always useful Steno.

 

 

A final film  reminds me that maker-culture is about making life better. What I admire about Kinfolk out of Portland, is that they honor and simplify the art of communion in the craft of the get-together. Here’s their manifesto. It’ll make you want to make a stew and invite some friends over for an impromptu gathering.

 

Leave a Reply

