Wangari Gardens

As my readers may know, I’m moving to Washington, DC in just two weeks. I’ve renovated the links list and now you’ll find a “life in the District” category and a few DC-area blogs. I won’t lie, I’m nervous. But that’s because I’ve been spoiled by Brooklyn, a city of artists, dreamers, immigrants and cultural do-gooders. My wife told me yesterday that she felt it, a chapter closing, a new chapter beginning. So many good things are happening in our nation’s capital. Here’s one:


Wangari Gardens, named for the Nobel-prize winner Wangari Maathai, is a urban farmer’s market, community garden and park, that was repurposed by a group of intrepid gardeners, urbanists and community activists. For more on their unique story, go here. Just one example of a true urban renaissance under way in DC, I look forward to bringing you more, and taking part.

Leave a Reply

