Transitions

I haven’t posted in nearly a month to deadbait because my life has been taken over by some pretty serious nesting. My wife and I moved (for the 3rd time in 3 years!) to Silver Spring, MD just outside DC to a 1950s rambler that has lots of space and a gorgeous yard. And all our thoughts and attention are getting the place ready for a little bundle of joy we’re expecting in just about two weeks!

As I sit here writing this post, I’m looking out onto a sun-dappled backyard where the pink, purple and red azaleas are in bloom.  Black and grey squirrels and rabbits are scavenging and flitting around the back yard. Somewhere in the background I can hear my cat Ninja meowing for a treat. My wife sleeps long and deep these days in anticipation of many restless nights ahead. And I feel thankful, content and a deep overwhelming sense of accomplishment, that the many long years of work, risk, adventures have lead up to a moment where I get to fulfill perhaps our greatest achievements in bringing another being into this world and raising her well. I look forward to the next chapter of life, this transition, with trepidation, in awe…

So when I’m neck-deep in baby poop and can’t get the baby to stop crying in a few weeks, remind me of this moment will you?

2 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. Congrats again and best of luck. Enjoy the peace and quiet while you can. I’m about six months behind you guys and just trying to get my last days of fishing in before the storm arrives… 🙂

Leave a Reply

