Gunpowder Gem

Got out on Fathers Day for a morning of fishing on the Gunpowder River. The best thing to do when you’re up earlier on that persnickety piece of water is to throw streamers, but low and behold after a good half-mile walk in I found rising trout about mid-morning taking what I think was the previous evening’s spinner fall remnants and the occasional sulphur dun. After negotiating some a tricky back eddy current and some clumsy fellow anglers who decided to cross the river about 20 feet below me, I set my sights on a rising brown just ahead of a boulder in a pillow seam. The pillow seam worked to my advantage because it doesn’t allow a rising trout a lot of time to investigate the fly. After about 5 – 7 casts he took my sulphur. GP browns aren’t big, they’re wild and hard-won. So I appreciate that this feller and I met at all. GP brown on a sulphurAnd I connected with about four more trout that morning before heading home to be with my girls for the rest of the day. Thank you wifey for the gift of a morning on the water!

Leave a Reply

