Blue Ridge Tour

Well the all along the South from Louisiana to Georgia, the South is getting a dose of the legend, myth, and quackery that some have called climate change. But seriously, I can only imagine how beautiful the Blue Ridge must look under a veil of snow. Fortunately I fished the most Southern tip of the Blue Ridge over the holidays in balmy 50 degree weather.

At the beginning of the Appalachian trail in the Hiwassee basin, I was able to touch a few native browns in the headwaters of the Noontootla river. I scouted the Toccoa delayed harvest section for next visit (it was blown out). I also found opportunity on the Smith and Amicalola creeks during my two weeks in Georgia with the in-laws. Put a nice dent in the No Nonsense Fly Fishing Georgia guidebook, but I’ve only just begun to explore all the coldwater fisheries here. Most Georgians don’t even know they have 4000 miles of trout streams in Northern GA. I keep thinking I should be taking more advantage of the TU website to find fishing companions when I travel. In fact, I hope in just a few years to be able to take my daughter to one of those spots I’ve come to know so well, that she’ll be guaranteed her first Georgia trout on her first cast at least.

Noontootla
Noontootla Creek
Noontootla Wild Rainbow
Noontootla Wild Rainbow
Toccoa River
Toccoa River

Toccoa River Sign

Toccoa River Flyfisher
Toccoa River Flyfisher
Amicalola Creek Brookie
Amicalola Creek Brookie
Tailwater stockie
Tailwater stockie
Smith Creek Brownie
Smith Creek Brownie
Feisty Bow
Feisty Smallstream Bow
Leave a Reply

